Now updated: Ramadan calendar -

Assalamualaikum, nowadays, many muslim people eat non halal food, and is it true that if you eat non halal food the dua will not be accepted for 40 days? i need the haram list of chocolate,food and restaurant, the rest i know is haram chocolate/candy and it's bounty,sniker bar, mars bar,celebration,m&m, wrigley's products,etc, and haram restaurant i know is starbucks and coffee bean. Please Answer,


Walikum Assalam,

Every Chocolate and candy is not Haram, but if any Haram ingredient used in their making then they will become haram. Some haram ingredients are,

  • Pork and its by-products e.g. gelatin, lipase, pepsin
  • Meat from animals not slaughtered according to the Islamic dietary law
  • Alcohol and foods prepared with alcohol e.g. candies and cakes that include alcohol such as rum cake
  • Foods made with pure or artificial vanilla extract (vanilla is prepared with alcohol)
  • Foods containing blood and blood by-products e.g. blood pudding
  • Foods made with any of the following: whey prepared with non-microbial enzyme, rennet, animal shortening, monoglycerides and diglycerides from an animal source, sodium stearoyl-lactylate, L-cysteine.

You can get a list of Halal and Haram ingredients here. Please download Guide to Understanding Halal Foods

Here is the link,

answered 1.2k16 believer's gravatar image
edited Feb 16 '13 at 04:25

Still i need to know haram restaurant

(Feb 16 '13 at 04:28) marcochip marcochip's gravatar image

Brother you can ask if you go to any restaurant, whether they have halal food or not. And most of the time the restaurants selling Halal Foods they post "Halal" sticker onto their wall. More then that, you can ask them about their license, as the restaurants should have license to sell Halal food. And if somehow you even doubt, you can buy Fish. Because as per the command of Allah (S.W.T) we don't say the name of Allah (S.W.T) on Fishes. But remember not every fish is Halal, like the fishes which has poison in them or can be harmful to human beings.

(Feb 16 '13 at 04:33) believer ♦ believer's gravatar image
Your answer
toggle preview

Markdown Basics

  • *italic* or __italic__
  • **bold** or __bold__
  • link:[text]( "title")
  • image?![alt text](/path/img.jpg "title")
  • numbered list: 1. Foo 2. Bar
  • to add a line break simply add two spaces to where you would like the new line to be.
  • basic HTML tags are also supported



Asked: Feb 15 '13 at 20:51

Seen: 2,381 times

Last updated: Feb 17 '13 at 17:31

©1998-2013 Publications and Research.       All Rights Reserved.