Saying the name of Allaah is a condition of meat being halaal, and it is not excused by forgetting or not knowing, according to the most correct scholarly opinion.
Meat slaughtered by one of the people of the Book (a Jew or a Christian) is permissible subject to two conditions:
1 – That the meat be slaughtered as a Muslim does it, by cutting the throat and oesophagus and letting the blood flow. If the animal is killed by strangling or electric shock or drowning in water, its meat is not permissible. Similarly, if a Muslim does that, the meat is not permissible.
whoever lives or travels to a non-Muslim country where most of those who slaughter meat are Christians or Jews, it is permissible for him to eat their meat, unless he knows that they stun the animals or mention over them the name of someone other than Allaah,
But if the slaughterman is an idol-worshipper or communist, it is not permissible to eat meat slaughtered by him.
Scholars considers America as a Christian country so we are allowed to eat from any fast food or restaurant that does not mix the lawful food with the unlawful. For example use of same oil or same utensils.
2 – No name other than that of Allaah should be mentioned over it, such as the name of the Messiah etc, because Allaah says (interpretation of the meaning):
If a Muslim or a kitaabi (Jew or Christian) slaughters an animal for meat, and it is not known whether he mentioned the name of Allaah over it or not, it is permissible to eat from it, and the one who eats it should say the name of Allaah, because of the report that was narrated by al-Bukhaari (2057) from ‘Aa’ishah (may Allaah be pleased with her), that some people said: O Messenger of Allaah, some people bring meat to us, and we do not know whether they mentioned the name of Allaah over it or not. The Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “Mention the name of Allaah over it and eat
I will post a email that a person will receive from McDonald's if he asks if it is halal.
I find the topic of McDonalds very confusing, because everyone is saying different things!
So, I decided to email them myself and they replied:
Thank you for your e-mail regarding McDonald’s cooking procedures and whether we include Halal products within the range.
Although I can confirm that none of our products carry Halal certification, all of our products are cooked separately, beef patties are cooked on a griddle and our Filet, French Fries, Apple Pies and Vegetable Deluxe are cooked in vegetable oil using dedicated cooking vats. These vats are exclusively for the purpose of cooking a specific product and that product alone.
Due to the order of rotation during the filtering of the vats, there is a possibility the100% vegetable oil used to cook the vegetable patty may come into contact with the 100% vegetable oil used to cook the chicken and/or fish products. Whilst every possible precaution is taken in order to prevent cross contamination during this filtering process, we cannot categorically state this would never occur.
The French Fries, which have been approved by the Vegetarian Society, are cooked using different equipment and are entirely segregated from the other products; therefore this product is not affected.
I hope that I have been able to reassure you of McDonald's cooking procedures, attention to detail and unequivocal dedication to offering only the highest quality products to our customers, at all times.
Finally, thank you for taking the time and trouble to contact us on this subject.
If kfc or any other fast food fulfills these requirement then it is permissible to eat from there.