Is the lamb liver haram to eat?

asked 101 mikal's gravatar image

why would it be?

(Apr 07 '13 at 18:49) Al Ummat ♦ Al%20Ummat's gravatar image

Asalam Alaikum

No the liver is not Haram. The Prophet (Sallalahu Alaihi wassallam) said:

أُحِلَّتْ لَنَا مَيْتَتَانِ وَدَمَانِ فَأَمَّا الْمَيْتَتَانِ فَالْحُوتُ وَالْجَرَادُ وَأَمَّا الدَّمَانِ فَالْكَبِدُ وَالطِّحَالُ

Two kinds of dead meat and two kinds of blood have been permitted to us. The two kinds of dead meat are fish and locusts, and the two kinds of blood are the liver and spleen

Ibn Majah

link
answered 31877 Al%20Ummat's gravatar image
edited Apr 07 '13 at 18:58

Forgive me but I wanted to address this issue when you wrote about this post but I was unable to log on. I memorized this Hadith and when I seen it, there were mistakes in the Arabic. Minor ones.

فَأَمَّا الْمَيْتَتَانِ فَالْحُوتُ وَالْجَرَادُ. It should be faljardo wal hawd. But the way you wrote the Hadith is different. Also وَأَمَّا الدَّمَانِ فَالْكَبِدُ وَالطِّحَالُ. It should be fatahilu wal kabad.

Forgive me for bringing this up. But I find that the matn should be preserved. Though a minor mistake, I just wanted you to be aware of it

(Apr 16 '13 at 23:36) Light ♦ Light's gravatar image
Your answer
toggle preview

Markdown Basics

  • *italic* or __italic__
  • **bold** or __bold__
  • link:[text](http://url.com/ "title")
  • image?![alt text](/path/img.jpg "title")
  • numbered list: 1. Foo 2. Bar
  • to add a line break simply add two spaces to where you would like the new line to be.
  • basic HTML tags are also supported

Tags:

×126
×17
×4

Asked: Apr 07 '13 at 18:32

Seen: 1,223 times

Last updated: Apr 16 '13 at 23:39


©1998-2013 Islam.com Publications and Research.       All Rights Reserved.